Skip to main content

Crypto card issuers & BIN sponsors

Most crypto cards don't run on their own bank licence. They rent a regulated bank or e-money institution's BIN. The brand on the front (the program manager) sets the rewards and the app; the licensed sponsor behind it handles compliance, settlement, and the Visa or Mastercard relationship. When that hidden sponsor fails, the card stops working.

This directory maps the issuer behind the 177 cards in our dataset wherever a source names one, drawn from our BIN-sponsor concentration research. 29 cards are issued by an entity holding its own licence rather than renting a BIN; 41 never disclose their sponsor at all. See the methodology for how we verify.

Confirmed means the sponsor is named in the card's own terms. Inferred means it is deduced from program-manager naming, a press release, or a partial agreement, and not yet confirmed verbatim.

Principal issuers (own banking / EMI licence)

These entities hold their own banking or EMI licence and issue directly, so no third-party BIN sponsor sits between them and the network. That is not the same as the brand issuing its own card: Crypto.com issues through its own Foris entity, but Gemini is issued by WebBank, Venmo by Synchrony Bank, and CoinJar by EML. The exception is to the sponsor model, not to the idea that somebody else holds the licence.

WebBank, confirmed

USA (Utah industrial bank, FDIC-insured)

Industrial bank

Synchrony Bank, confirmed

USA (federal savings bank)

Federal savings bank

  • Venmo Credit Card · Issued under Visa licence. Synchrony explicitly disclaims the crypto-cashback programme: "Synchrony does not provide, recommend, or take responsibility for the cryptocurrency program."source

Celtic Bank, confirmed

USA (Utah state-chartered bank)

State-chartered bank

  • Fold Bitcoin Credit Card · "The Fold Bitcoin Credit Card TM is issued by Celtic Bank, powered by Stripe®, and operates on the Visa® network." Separate from the prepaid Fold Card, which Sutton Bank issues.source

JSC Hash Bank, confirmed

Georgia (country)

Bank (licence details not checked)

  • WhiteBIT Nova USD Card · "Nova USD is a debit Visa card issued in partnership with JSC Hash Bank." The card terms PDF it links to could not be read.source

Flexewallet Pty Ltd, confirmed

Australia (AFSL 448066)

Australian financial services licence

  • Wayex Australia Card · "The Wayex Card is a prepaid Visa® issued by Flexewallet Pty Ltd ABN 16 164 657 032 AFSL 448066." CryptoSpend Pty Ltd, trading as Wayex, distributes and manages the programme.source

UAB ZEN.COM, confirmed

Lithuania (Bank of Lithuania e-money licence No. 35, issued 2018-05-24)

Electronic money institution (EMI)

  • ZEN Card · Self-issued: "ZEN.COM Cards are issued by UAB ZEN.COM under the licence of the respective Card Organization." Sibling entities ZEN-UK Limited (FCA) and ZEN.COM PTE. LTD. (MAS) cover other regions.source

EML Payment Solutions Limited, confirmed

Australia (AFSL 404131, Mastercard principal member)

Australian financial services licence

  • CoinJar Card · PDS cl. 6: "The Issuer of the Card is EML." CoinJar Australia Pty Ltd is EML’s authorised representative (no. 1290193), i.e. the programme side.source

Papaya Ltd, confirmed

Malta (MFSA registration C 55146)

Electronic money institution (EMI)

Xapo Bank Ltd, confirmed

Gibraltar (GFSC permission 23171)

Credit institution (full banking) + Visa & Mastercard principal

Revolut Bank UAB / Revolut Ltd, confirmed

Lithuania (Bank of Lithuania) + UK (FCA FRN 900562)

Full banking licence (EEA) + EMI (UK)

  • Revolut Card · In the EEA the card is issued by Revolut Bank UAB (authorisation code LB002119); in the UK, by Revolut Ltd.source

Wise Payments Limited, confirmed

UK (FCA FRN 900507)

Electronic money institution (EMI)

Trade Republic Bank GmbH, confirmed

Germany (BaFin, credit institution since 2023)

Full banking licence

Swissquote Bank SA, confirmed

Switzerland (FINMA bank licence)

Full banking licence

Deblock SAS, confirmed

France (ACPR CIB 17748 + AMF MiCA CASP A2025-001)

EMI + MiCA CASP (first French MiCA CASP)

Wirex Limited

UK (FCA FRN 902025)

Mastercard Principal Member direct (since July 2020); Visa Principal Member per the Wirex litepaper

Confirmed

  • Wirex Card · UK and the rest of the world outside the EEA, Australia and New Zealand: the Wirex One terms say the card-based service is provided by Wirex Limited, the FCA e-money institution (registration 902025), and name no card scheme there; Novatti Group provides it in Australia and New Zealand. The Visa references in the old UK terms are the legacy Contis card, a partnership that ended 16 March 2021. The metal card on the Private and Bespoke tiers is a Visa Signature.source
  • Cardano Card · "distributed by EMURGO and issued by Wirex"; the EMURGO launch release repeats it, "With Wirex as the card issuer". Which Wirex entity is never stated, and for the EEA the issuer is Transact Payments Malta with Wirex UAB as programme manager; cardanocard.io publishes no terms of its own, so an applicant accepts Wirex regional terms, none of which mentions Cardano or ADAsource
  • BingX Card · BingX announced this Visa debit card on 10 Jul 2026 as issued by Wirex on Wirex's Visa principal membership, without naming the Wirex entity, and opened it to all eligible users on 11 Sep 2026. The earlier BingX Card was a Euro Mastercard issued by Paytend Europe UAB, unusable from 3 Mar 2026 after Lietuvos bankas revoked Paytend's e-money licence.source

Inferred

  • COCA Card · The cards-page footnote names Wirex Limited (UK) or UAB Wirex (EEA) as issuer of "a prepaid Mastercard"; COCA told us in writing on 15 September 2026 that the current card is a prepaid Visa and that this footnote is outdated. No public COCA document names the issuer of the Visa cardsource

Foris Group (Crypto.com), confirmed

UK + Malta + Australia + Singapore

Self-issuance via 4 verified regional licences (FCA / MiCA CASP / AFSL / MAS MPI)

Capital Financial Services SA (Twispay), inferred

Romania (NBR EMI); the first Romanian EMI

Visa & Mastercard Principal (parent-owned by MultiversX)

Rain (Signify Holdings, Inc.), confirmed

USA (New York)

Visa Principal Member (Mar 2025) + Mastercard Principal Member (4 May 2026); program manager turned named issuer on newer launches

  • Plasma One Card · June 2026 terms: "issued by Rain, a Visa Principal Member"; US residents served via Bridge Building Inc.source
  • Jupiter Card · The docs say the card is "issued by two partners, Rain and DCS"; Rain covers cardholders outside Asia-Pacific.source
  • Tangem Pay Card · page now reads "issued by Rain, a Visa Principal Member", where until mid-2026 it named Third Nationalsource
  • Lydian Card · "issued by Rain, a Visa Principal Member, and operate over the Visa network", with the underlying sponsor bank not disclosedsource
  • Karta Card · launch release: "The Visa card is issued by Rain, a Visa Principal Member." Karta’s own site says only "we work with regulated financial and card-issuing partners" and "we are a financial technology company, not a bank".source
  • Rizon Card · terms: "a virtual or physical debit card, issued by our Partner, Rain"; the fees page names "Signify Holdings Inc. and its subsidiary Nimbus LLC (Rain), a third-party licensed financial service provider" and says Rain "operates under its own regulatory authorizations"source
  • Solid Card · international Card Terms: "“Issuer” refers to Third National, including its affiliates, successors, and assigns"; landing footnote: "The Solid Card is a Visa credit card issued by Rain". The US agreement ("Solid Credit Card Account Opening Disclosures", Maryland credit law) does not name the issuer entity. Licensed bank behind Third National not named; Solid's own launch announcement described the rails as Bridge, and that conflict is unresolved. This covers the Rain side: depending on the country of residence the card is issued by Rain or by Wirex, and Solid publishes no Wirex card termssource

Xpollens, confirmed

France (ACPR, CIB 16528); RCS Paris 501586341

Electronic money institution (EMI)

  • Bitstack Card · Bitstack Digital Assets SAS operates "as an agent of Xpollens", so the licence is Xpollens' and the brand is Bitstack'ssource

UAB Pervesk, confirmed

Lithuania (Bank of Lithuania EMI No. 17, LB000426)

Electronic money institution (EMI)

  • SpectroCoin Card (discontinued) · in-house: SpectroCoin issues through its own EMI, so no third-party sponsor can pull the programme. Card closed to new EEA customers 1 July 2026 pending MiCA authorisation.source

Top BIN sponsors (by card count)

The most-used sponsors across the dataset. Concentration is highest inside specific sub-markets (US self-custody, EU/UK self-custody). The research covers the concentration math.

#1Third National (Nimbus LLC)

USA; Puerto Rico money transmitter (NMLS #2612780), a subsidiary of Signify Holdings, Inc. ("Rain") per Rain's privacy policy

Confirmed

  • Cypher Card (discontinued)source
  • Solayer Cardsource
  • Oobit Cardsource
  • Orbitx Cardsource
  • Ether.fi Cash Cardsource
  • Ethena Pay Card · Card Terms: "References in these Card Terms to the "Issuer" refer to Third National"; programme "managed by Signify Holdings, Inc. d/b/a Rain"source
  • Moto Card · Card Terms: "The issuer for this card program is Third National."source
  • nsave Card · Spend Card Terms: "“Issuer” refers to Third National, pursuant to a licence from Visa"; access "provided to you by npay USA Inc."source
  • Hyperbeat Card · "The Hyperbeat Card is issued by Third National pursuant to a license from Visa"; the card-terms document adds a Nigeria clause naming BANEX Microfinance Bank as the local marketersource
  • Tuyo Card · Tuyo's account opening disclosure names Third National as the issuer, and tuyo.com/card names Rain for card issuance services.source
  • BonkX Card · pre-launch, waitlist only; Third National named in the user agreementsource
  • Xplace Card · platform operated by Pontech Group L.L.C-FZ; Rain railsource
  • Grey Card · Nigeria distribution runs through BANEX Microfinance Bank Limited as marketer, not issuersource
  • belo LUX Visa · "El emisor de este programa de tarjetas es Third National." belo provides access through Gralcey S.A.source
  • Fasset Card · operating entity Fasset FZE (Dubai, VARA)source

Inferred

  • Spritz Card · Help centre and T&C name "Rain" only; bank not namedsource
  • KAST Card · Rain's Series C release (Jan 2026) names KAST as a Rain customer. The issuing bank is inferred from that.
  • Tria Card · This attribution covers Tria's US card. The issuing bank is inferred via Rain.
  • AmpBlack Card (discontinued) · inferred via Rain
  • Rizon Card · Rain's own announcement confirms the card runs on Rain. The issuing bank is inferred from that.source
  • Exa Card · This attribution covers Exa's US card. The issuing bank is inferred via Rain.
  • Moonwell Card (discontinued) · inferred via Rainsource
  • Avalanche Card · The Avalanche Builder Hub confirms the card runs on Rain. The issuing bank is inferred from that.source
  • Avici Card · inferred via Rain
  • Pyra Card (discontinued) · This attribution covers Pyra's US card. Pyra named Rain as its card issuing partner. The issuing bank is inferred via Rain. The card was discontinued on 15 June 2026.source
  • Kolo Card · This attribution covers Kolo's Mexico card. The issuing bank is inferred via Rain.
  • Offramp Card (discontinued) · inferred via Rain
  • Meru Card · The brand entity is R3mit Solutions Inc., Miami. Meru’s own terms name no issuer. The issuing bank is inferred via Rain.source

#2Monavate Limited + UAB Monavate

UK (FCA 901097) + Lithuania (Bank of Lithuania)

Confirmed

  • Gnosis Pay Cardsource
  • SwissBorg Card · EEA via UAB Monavate, whose Bank of Lithuania authorisation code the card terms print as "LB002139901097". The wallet is provided separately by BlockNodes SAS.source
  • OKX Card · This covers the EEA card.source
  • Kraken Card · Kraken, UK and EEA. The Krak Card is the same product with a different design, per Kraken's card FAQ.source
  • Ledger Card · This covers the EU card; Cross River issues the US one.
  • 1inch Debit Card
  • MetaMask Card · MetaMask's card FAQ names Monavate as the card issuer and Baanx as the provider of the card, without naming a region. A Cross River binding for the US card is listed separately and is not confirmed.source
  • MiniPay Card · "issued through Monavate’s regulated card issuing and Visa’s global payments network, with Gnosis Pay serving as technical enabler and program manager"source

Inferred

#3Lead Bank

USA (Missouri state-chartered); via Bridge (Stripe-owned program manager)

Confirmed

Inferred

#4Wallester AS

Estonia / EEA (Visa Principal Member)

Confirmed

  • KuCard · This covers the EEA card.source
  • Bringin Card · T&C §9.1: "issued ... by a Third-Party Service Provider, Wallester AS (registry code 11812882), a Payment Institution authorized by the Financial Supervision Authority of the Republic of Estonia". vIBAN rail is separate: OpenPayd Financial Services Malta (C 75580), named in the same document.source

Inferred

  • Bitrefill Card · This covers the EU card.
  • YouHodler Card
  • WhiteBIT Card (discontinued) · primary T&C unreachable, so the scheme is unverified
  • Brighty Card · homepage says "Powered by Mastercard"
  • Tonhub Card · Tonhub is the wallet front-end of the Holders card program; Holders names Wallester as "a European-licensed financial institution ... issues VISA cards for Holders users with EU residency". Tonhub’s own terms page renders client-side and could not be read.source

#5SR Saphirstein AG (Fiat24 / UR)

Switzerland; CHE-256.014.995, Zürich (FINMA Art. 1b fintech licence, granted 16 Feb 2021)

Confirmed

  • THORWallet Card (discontinued)
  • Fiat24 Card (discontinued) · Fiat24 self-issues on its own FINMA licence; Fiat24-branded onboarding is frozen ("maintenance works"), which closes the four partner wallet cards on that rail to new applicants. Fiat24 confirmed the suspension in writing on 29 July 2026, the date we flag; the banner was already up by 23 July. UR, the other consumer brand on the same licence, stopped opening new accounts on 22 July 2026.
  • UR Card (discontinued) · "UR is the trademark of SR Saphirstein AG ... company registration number CHE-256.014.995": the same licence as Fiat24, under a different consumer brand. UR does not name a card-scheme principal member behind the card.source
  • Zoomex Card (discontinued) · Zoomex FAQ: "jointly launched by Zoomex and Swiss licensed financial institution UR"; the PR adds that assets are "custodied by UR, a registered trademark under the Swiss financial institution SR Saphirstein AG". Program provider named, BIN sponsor not.source

Inferred

#6DCS Card Centre Pte. Ltd.

Singapore (MAS, ex-Diners Club)

Confirmed

  • MEXC Card · standalone MEXC Card only (product DCS001, Philippines/Taiwan/Vietnam/Thailand). The separate MEXC x ether.fi co-brand runs on Third National and is reviewed as the Ether.fi Cash Card. The terms name no card network.source
  • Jupiter Card · The docs say the card is "issued by two partners, Rain and DCS"; DCS covers Asia-Pacific.source
  • Coin98 Fusion Card · "Issued in partnership with DCS Card Centre Pte. Ltd, a trusted financial institution with decades of card issuance expertise", under the DeCard brandsource

Inferred

#7Pomelo S.A.

Argentina (BaaS, multi-LatAm)

Confirmed

  • Takenos Card · Argentine Spicy Card: "El emisor de la tarjeta prepaga es Pomelo Fintech Services S.A.S." Takenos’ newer international TakeCard has separate terms naming only "el Prestador de Tarjetas".source

Inferred

#8Cross River Bank

USA (New Jersey state-chartered)

Confirmed

Inferred

  • MetaMask Card · US card, not confirmed by MetaMask. Its card FAQ names only Monavate as the issuer.
  • Ledger Card · This covers the US card; Monavate issues the EU one.

#9Immersve, inferred

New Zealand (FSP, Mastercard Principal)

#10Quicko sp. z o.o., confirmed

Poland (KNF); licence REVOKED 21 Jan 2026

#11Paytend Europe UAB, confirmed

Lithuania (Lietuvos bankas); e-money licence REVOKED, effective 3 Mar 2026

  • BloFin Card · BloFin's card terms, as archived in August 2025, read "'Paytend' means Paytend Europe UAB ... EMI License LB000480". The same agreement defines "Card Association" as both Visa and Mastercard, so the network is unsettled.source

Secondary sponsors (outside the research top table)

The Bancorp Bank, N.A., confirmed

USA (OCC national bank)

  • PayPal Debit Card · "The PayPal Debit Mastercard is issued by The Bancorp Bank, N.A. ... The Bancorp is issuer of the Card only and not responsible for the associated accounts."source

Modulr FS Limited, confirmed

UK (FCA FRN 900573); EEA via Modulr Finance B.V. (DNB R182870)

  • Plutus Card (discontinued) · UK only. Terms list "Plutus Debit Card (via Modulr)" and describe the partner as "an authorised Electronic Money Institution", without specifying which Modulr entity. The EEA terms name nobody and state card services are "temporarily unavailable as we transition to a new banking partner".source

Pathward, N.A., confirmed

USA (ex-MetaBank)

Sutton Bank

USA (Ohio)

Inferred

  • Wirex Card · Historical: this covers the US card relaunched in February 2025 via Bridge.xyz. The Wirex One country list of September 2026 no longer includes the United States, and Wirex does not explain why.

Unlimit EU Ltd, confirmed

Cyprus (Central Bank of Cyprus EMI, company number HE 328641)

  • Holyheld Cardsource
  • Bleap Card · "The Card is issued by Unlimit EU Ltd, an Electronic Money Institution authorised by the Central Bank of Cyprus", with Bleap in the programme-provider seat: "Bleap does not issue e-money, operate payment accounts, hold client assets or private keys, or provide custody". The Bleap programme entity is mid-migration from Bleap Finance Sp. z o.o. (Poland) to Bleap SIA (Latvia, 40203714425): both sets of agreements were live on the site on 2026-08-07. Bleap SIA's Latvijas Banka CASP licence covers crypto-asset services, not card issuance.source

Transact Payments Malta Limited, confirmed

Malta (MFSA C 91879)

  • Bitpanda Card · post-April 2025 migrationsource
  • Wirex Card · In the EEA the Mastercard is issued by Transact Payments Malta Limited under a Mastercard licence, with Wirex UAB (Lithuania 305118023) as program manager.source
  • Tap Card · "Cards provided to EEA residents are issued by Transact Payments Malta Limited and cards provided to UK residents are issued by Transact Payments Limited pursuant to licences by Mastercard International." Source domain now dead; current site (withtap.com) names no issuer publicly.source

Zenus Bank, confirmed

Puerto Rico (international banking entity)

  • CoinZoom Card · "the CoinZoom Visa (the 'Card') has been issued to you by Zenus Bank (the 'Bank')", named in the first line of the cardholder agreementsource

Orient Corporation (Orico, 株式会社オリエントコーポレーション), confirmed

Japan (Tokyo; consumer-credit provider registered under the Installment Sales Act)

  • Slash Card · Joint release of 20 Apr 2026 splits the roles in its own words: オリコ as "BINスポンサー" for international-brand acceptance, 株式会社アイキタス (iQuitous, Tokyo) as "カード発行者" running customer management and systems, and SLASH VISION PTE. LTD. (Singapore) as programme manager and brand owner.source

Kulipa, confirmed

France

  • Ready Card (discontinued) · Ready calls Kulipa "a regulated card issuer" and routes ID verification through it. Kulipa is the program layer; the EMI or bank underneath is not named by either party.source

Joint Development Bank (JDB), confirmed

Laos

  • UltimoPay Card · terms bind the cardholder to "the terms and conditions of the Joint Development Bank from which the card was issued", which makes it the only Lao issuing bank in the setsource

BFF Cards, LLC, confirmed

USA (program issuer named in the cardholder agreement; no sponsor bank named)

  • UglyCash Card · "the UGLYCASH's Visa Prepaid Card, which is issued by BFF Cards, LLC". Both agreements (BFF Prime, US; BFF United, El Salvador) were read end to end, and neither mentions Bangor Savings Bank or "Member FDIC", so the Bangor attribution in search results is unsupported.source

JC Credit Limited, confirmed

Hong Kong (money lender licence, Licensing Court)

  • UPay Card · "This Agreement is made between you and JC Credit Limited." A money-lender licence is not a card-issuing licence: JC Credit is the cardholder's counterparty; the actual issuing bank or BIN sponsor is never named.source

StraitsX, inferred

Singapore

  • Pionex Card · StraitsX's own case study claims it provides "the underlying stablecoin-backed card issuance infrastructure powering the Pionex Card program". Pionex publishes no cardholder agreement and names no issuer across 66 card help articles, so this rests on one party's account.source

Wirex Limited, confirmed

UK (FCA EMI, FRN 902025; England & Wales company 09334596)

  • Utorg Card · via Chain Valley Sp. z o.o. (Poland, KRS 0001036419); Wirex is a principal member of both Visa and Mastercard and no document names which scheme this card usessource

Tevau Technology Limited, confirmed

Hong Kong (company reg. 76280597)

  • Fizen Card (discontinued) · program manager only; the issuing bank behind Tevau is undisclosed. Tevau still sells its own card, so this is not a cascade risk.source

Local distributors (licensed locally, not the issuer)

A card issued abroad still needs someone answerable to the local regulator where it is sold. These entities market the card and file its returns; the bank behind the BIN is listed above, and is unchanged. If the local licence lapses, that country loses the card while the rest of the programme carries on.

BANEX Microfinance Bank Limited, confirmed

Nigeria (CBN-licensed microfinance bank)

Local marketer of record, not the issuing bank

  • Hyperbeat Card · clause 7.4 "Nigerian Users": the card "is marketed to you by BANEX MICROFINANCE BANK LIMITED", which also files the requisite returns with the CBN. The issuer stays Third National.source
  • Grey Card · same arrangement: Nigeria distribution runs through BANEX as marketer, not issuer.source

Sponsor not publicly disclosed

These cards ship without publicly naming the licensed issuer behind them. We don't guess. Non-disclosure is itself a transparency concern. MiCA in the EU, and the UK crypto regime due to start in October 2027, may force some of these into the open. Until then, treat the issuer as unknown.

Sponsor relationships change, and some cards only name a program manager (not the bank behind it). We attribute only what primary sources state, label our confidence in each one, and re-verify against the dated research. Spot an error? Report a correction. Last reviewed 2026-09-25.