Weekly Crypto Card Intel
Fee changes, new cards, cashback drops — delivered weekly. Plus a free PDF: Top 10 Crypto Cards Ranked by Real Fees.
No spam, ever. Unsubscribe anytime.
We keep a single CSV with every crypto debit and credit card we have ever tracked. There are 173 rows in it right now: 141 cards you can actually get today, 27 that no longer accept new applicants (kept with shutdown dates and sources), and 5 announced products nobody holds yet. This page is a straight read of that file: where the money in the market actually sits, how many cards charge real FX fees, how many are self-custody in practice (not just in marketing), and which few cards thread the needle on every dimension at once. If you have ever wondered how many crypto cards there really are or what an average one looks like, this is the distribution.
Everything below is computed from the same data that drives individual card pages. The numbers refresh whenever the site is rebuilt. If a value looks off, the card detail page is the source of truth and we usually fix confirmed errors within 48 hours.
Snapshot of the full Sweepbase database: all 173 tracked cards, discontinued ones included. Hover or read the table sections below for the full breakdown.
Headline findings
The 173-card sample is everything Sweepbase has ever tracked as a real crypto debit or credit card: an issuer with at least a virtual card in production and a public help center I can read. Of those rows, 141 are obtainable today. 27 are discontinued, and 5 are announced products still waiting on their first actual cardholder; those carry a pre-launch flag and stay out of every obtainable count. What I exclude entirely is vapor, cards that show up in press releases but never in the issuer's own product navigation. When a card dies, I do not delete the row. It keeps its place in the database with a discontinued flag, the date applications closed, the reason, and a source link, then drops out of the active listings and rankings. The shutdown history is half the point of running an index like this. New cards get added after the first Sweepbase reader sends me a screenshot of their wallet showing the card live.
The fields in the database are not theoretical. Every column maps to a question I have asked at least once when trying to decide whether to use a card. Issuance fee, annual fee, FX rate, cashback rate, top-up methods, supported chains, KYC region, custody model. The unusual fields, like "DNA missing count" and "thin-content risk," are how I keep the index honest about which products have enough public information to be reviewed responsibly. Cards with three or more missing fields are flagged thin in the data because there is genuinely not enough out there to write a usable comparison entry.
About one in five cards in the Sweepbase database is true self-custody, meaning the private keys stay in the user's wallet until a purchase happens on-chain or through a signed intent. The rest are custodial: the issuer or its banking partner holds the balance in an omnibus account, and the card debits that balance at the point of sale.
| Model | Cards | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Self-custody | 51 | 29% |
| Custodial | 122 | 71% |
Visa still dominates, but Mastercard has been catching up through EEA-issued products and the Bybit and Binance partnerships. A handful of cards run on other networks (Amex, prepaid voucher rails) or do not publish their network at all.
| Network | Cards | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Visa | 121 | 70% |
| Mastercard | 70 | 40% |
| Other / unspecified | 3 | 2% |
When you strip the marketing, the picture changes. Most cards sit under 2% cashback at their highest advertised rate. The 5%+ tier is small and almost entirely gated behind significant token staking.
| Cashback (top advertised rate) | Cards | Share |
|---|---|---|
| None (no cashback) | 83 | 48% |
| Below 1% | 2 | 1% |
| 1% to under 2% | 13 | 8% |
| 2% to under 5% | 28 | 16% |
| 5% and above | 47 | 27% |
| Card | Value |
|---|---|
| No cashback | 83 cards |
| Below 1% | 2 cards |
| 1–2% | 13 cards |
| 2–5% | 28 cards |
| 5%+ | 47 cards |
The shape that surprises most readers: roughly half the catalog pays no cashback at the base tier, and the 5%+ bucket is small and almost entirely gated behind staking or subscription.
Only 51% of cards pay any meaningful cashback once capped rewards, prepaid requirements, and token-lockup tiers are stripped out. The visible chart and the table tell the same story two ways: a few high-headline cards skew perception, the median card pays less than 1% on the rate available to a brand-new applicant. See our Real Fees Top 10 for the cards that keep their rate in the real world.
Foreign-exchange markups are the quiet fee that eats more money than any annual card charge. A card that advertises 2% cashback but charges 3% FX is net-negative on every overseas purchase. The mechanics, explicit FX line vs. embedded conversion spread, are unpacked in our crypto card fees explained primer.
| FX fee | Cards | Share |
|---|---|---|
| 0% FX | 48 | 28% |
| Below 1% | 11 | 6% |
| 1% to under 2% | 34 | 20% |
| 2% and above | 53 | 31% |
| Not disclosed | 27 | 16% |
| Card | Value |
|---|---|
| 0% FX | 48 cards |
| Below 1% | 11 cards |
| 1–2% | 34 cards |
| 2%+ | 53 cards |
| Not disclosed | 27 cards |
The 'not disclosed' column is the one that should worry buyers most, it captures cards where the FX cost is buried in the spread or only revealed after KYC. Every card we list as 'not disclosed' is flagged on its detail page.
A quick read of how many cards in the database carry each of the common feature tags.
| Feature | Cards | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Zero issuance and annual fees | 69 | 40% |
| No mandatory KYC | 6 | 3% |
| Apple Pay or Google Pay | 144 | 83% |
| Yield on deposits | 107 | 62% |
Each of these cards is self-custody, charges 0% FX, has zero issuance and annual fees, and pays a non-zero base cashback. Very few products combine all four because each one costs the issuer margin somewhere. When a card appears here, it usually means the issuer is subsidising either through token economics (native-token rewards) or the chain fee spread.
| Card | Cashback (advertised) | Network |
|---|---|---|
| Bleap Card | Rates come from Bleap’s own Fair Usage Limits table in the cashback terms rather than the marketing page: 1% on everything, capped at 500 EUR per transaction and 3,000 EUR per month; 3% on rides (Uber, Bolt) and on delivery (Just Eat, Deliveroo, Uber Eats, Glovo, Bolt Food), each capped at 50 EUR per transaction and 500 EUR per month; 20% on a named list of subscriptions across streaming (Netflix, Disney, Amazon Prime, YouTube), AI (Claude, ChatGPT, Gemini) and gaming (PlayStation Plus, Xbox Game Pass, Nintendo Switch Online, Steam). The 20% is far smaller than it reads, because the caps limit the spend the rate applies to rather than the payout - "fair usage caps refer to the maximum eligible payment amount on which cashback may be calculated, not the maximum cashback amount payable". Netflix is capped at 20 EUR a month, so the 20% is worth 4 EUR; ChatGPT at 30 EUR a month is worth 6 EUR; Claude, Disney, PlayStation Plus, Nintendo and Steam are capped per year rather than per month. The 2% on restaurants and supermarkets was a promotion dated 12/02/2026 to 31/05/2026; it has expired and the cashback page now shows 1%. Paid in USDC to the wallet balance automatically, and clawed back if the purchase is refunded. Payments routed through Curve earn nothing, and the excluded merchant-category list also covers utilities, taxes, government services, insurance, hospitals, charities, gift shops and software/IT services (checked 2026-09-04) | Mastercard Standard, issued by Unlimit EU Ltd, an electronic money institution licensed by the Central Bank of Cyprus. Bleap is the programme provider, not the issuer, and says so: "Bleap does not issue e-money, operate payment accounts, hold client assets or private keys, or provide custody". The card terms name Bleap SIA of Latvia as the programme entity, while the wallet Terms of Service name Bleap Finance sp. z o.o. of Poland |
| Ether.fi Cash Card | Up to 3% cashback on Core, Luxe and Pinnacle (4% on VIP), paid in ETHFI since September 2026: help 262374 (12 Sep 2026) says every qualifying transaction "earns cashback in ETHFI. This will display in your assets list as ETHFI", converted at the ETHFI price when the purchase clears, then locked for 7 days; a minimum of $5 in cashback is needed to claim (help 825725). Before this change cashback landed as USDC (our July 2026 purchase paid back USDC). Monthly ladders: Core 3% to $2,000, 1% to $3,000, 0.5% above; Luxe 3% to $10,000, 1% to $20,000, 0.5% above; Pinnacle 3% to $50,000, 1% to $80,000, 0.5% above; VIP 4% to $50,000. Euro purchases earn on a shorter ladder measured in USD equivalent: Core 3% to $800, 1% to $1,500, 0.1% above (Luxe $3,000/$6,000, Pinnacle $16,000/$26,000), and USD and EUR share one monthly counter. Luxe and above add category cashback on named subscriptions (10% up to $10 a month on Luxe, 20%/$20 Pinnacle, 30%/$30 VIP, help 823083) and 25% on airport fast-track fees up to $25 a year (823119). Tiers are earned monthly with points (Luxe 5K to activate and 5K a month to keep, Pinnacle 25K per help 303625; help 303623 still prints 10K and 50K), by staking 30,000 ETHFI for Luxe or 150,000 for Pinnacle (help 429651), by a Liquid deposit of $15K/$100K, or by paying $199/$999 a year. Points earn at 1.5 per $1k staked per day, 10 per $1k in Liquid per day, 1,000 per $1k of card spend and 5 per 1K ETHFI staked per day (303625). read 12 September 2026 | Visa Signature |
| Deblock Card | 0.1% on card payments settled in euros and 1% on other currencies, Premium plan only (EUR 10/month); the free Standard plan gets none; no Native plan on the current pricing page. Planned $BLOCK token launch cancelled indefinitely (Mar 2026); token cashback never shipped. | Visa Debit |
| Rebind Card | Up to 5% in GNO tokens (1-4% base by GNO tier + 1% OG NFT bonus, weekly spend caps $250-$1,250 per tier). Interim programme extended to Sep 30 2026; successor partner-led programmes TBD. | Visa Debit |
| Ethena Pay Card | Banded by tier and monthly spend, paid in AVAX: Standard 4% on the first $2,500 per month, then 1% to $4,000, then 0%; Pro 4.5% to $8,000, then 2% to $10,000, 1% to $12,000, 0.5% beyond; VIP 5% to $20,000, then 2% to $30,000, 1% to $40,000, 0.5% beyond. Credited daily after settlement at the AVAX-USD rate; transactions under $1 earn nothing; cash advances, ATM, crypto purchases, gift cards, P2P transfers and account funding are excluded. Launch-day press adds a higher headline for VIP at select brands that the pricing page does not carry, so it is left out here. | Visa |
Not every card on this list suits every user. Region availability, top-up method, and spending caps vary. Follow each card link for the full detail page.
Each card in the Sweepbase database is a CSV row with 46 columns pulled from issuer documentation, regulatory disclosures, and direct testing (the public card model exposes 25 of them after validation). Every distribution on this page is computed across all 173 tracked cards, discontinued ones included, so the shares describe the market as we have recorded it, not only the cards you can order today. For this report we group the fields into simple buckets:
The full rating formula is on the Methodology page, and the raw per-card data is published on every card detail page. If any number on this page is wrong, the card page is the source of truth and we will fix the number that drives the chart, not the chart itself.
Editorial commentary from Mihail B., who runs the database refresh and personally reads every issuer fee-schedule update.
The clearest shift in this cohort is the rise of self-custody options. Bleap launched in EU. Solid expanded outside Asia. Ether.fi, Gnosis Pay's white-label partners (Rebind, Zeal, Picnic), and the MetaMask Card all hit volume milestones. The custodial-vs-self-custody balance still tips heavily toward custodial, but the distribution is moving and that movement matters because self-custody cards put competitive pressure on FX fees across the board.
5 cards in the database satisfy all four constraints (self-custody, 0% FX, no annual fee, non-zero cashback). It is a hard set to populate, since each property costs the issuer margin in a different place. Cards that reach it usually do so by subsidising one dimension with token economics. Bleap pays cashback in USDC (no token risk, but the higher tiers are gated by category), Ether.fi pays in wETH, which transfers volatility risk from the issuer to the user. Worth keeping in mind before treating a “rare gem” listing as unconditional.
27 cards in the index do not publish a clear FX fee, which is roughly 16% of the catalog. Most of these bury the cost inside a “competitive exchange rate” clause, which we treat as a yellow flag in our scoring. If you are reading this from a card whose review you came in on and that card sits in the “not disclosed” bucket, the absence of a number is itself the number.
We expect the cashback distribution to shift left (lower headline rates, higher base rates) and the FX distribution to shift toward zero as MiCA-licensed EU issuers add card products. The custody distribution is the one we expect to move slowly, because the operational complexity of self-custody at scale is still real. Track this page, it regenerates on every site rebuild and is the cleanest single number on what the market actually looks like.
Every claim above is grounded in a primary source. The list below is what we read to write this guide: regulators, issuer fee schedules, archived snapshots. If a number looks wrong, start here.
Fee changes, new cards, cashback drops — delivered weekly. Plus a free PDF: Top 10 Crypto Cards Ranked by Real Fees.
No spam, ever. Unsubscribe anytime.
The crypto card market in 2026 is larger than most buyers realise and smaller than the listings suggest. Of 173 products we track, only a handful combine the features most readers care about at once, and the headline cashback rates rarely survive contact with the fee print. Use this page as a reality check: if a card sits in a category with two peers, expect that category's trade-offs to apply.
Browse the full card database, see what changed in our methodology, or jump to the Real Fees Top 10 for a ranked net-value view.