Skip to main content
HODL Card crypto card

HODL Card Review 2026

Reviewed by Mihail B. in · how we verify

Algorithmic score, not user reviews: how it is calculated

Closed to new applicants since . Cards you can still get

CustodyCustodial
NetworkMastercard Debit
CashbackNone
RegionsGlobal

Fees and limits

Issuance fee$99.99 (Plastic); $249.99 (Metal); $5,000 (Gold Plated)
Annual fee$9.99/month (Plastic); $13.99/month (Metal); $29.99/month (Gold Plated)
FX feeNot disclosed (2% ATM fee regardless of currency)
ATM limit$1,500/day (2% ATM fee, min $1.95)
Spending limitNot disclosed

Features

  • Cashback: Discontinued (issuer Nvayo barred from e-money business by the FCA on 8 August 2023; card no longer issued or operational)
  • KYC: Yes
  • Card type: Physical only
  • Top up with: Wire transfer, debit card, credit card; BTC, ETH, BCH, LTC, EOS, USDT, USDC, BAT, PAX
  • Available countries: EU/EEA for card distribution; usable in 200+ countries

Who issues the HODL Card

Our issuer directory has no verified entry for the HODL Card yet: a bank goes in only with a source we can cite. 39 of the 141 cards you can still get are in the same position. See our BIN-sponsor research for why disclosure varies and what it means for you.

Pros and cons before it closed

Pros

  • Up to 22% cashback on select purchases; luxury card tiers; 200+ country usage; multiple crypto supported

Cons

  • Very high entry ($99-$5000); monthly fees ($10-30/mo); $0.20 per transaction; issuer lost its FCA e-money permissions in August 2023
  • Card issuance fee: $99.99 (Plastic)
  • Annual fee: $9.99/month (Plastic)

Regional availability

Was available worldwide

The HODL Card was available in most countries.

Card overview

Don't try to apply. The HODL Card stopped working in August 2023, when the FCA barred its issuer, Nvayo Limited, from e-money business. Club Swan sold it as the HODL Collection, a physical Mastercard Debit at the top of the price range: $99.99 for plastic, $249.99 for metal and $5,000 for a gold-plated card, plus $9.99 to $29.99 a month. Nvayo, an FCA-authorised e-money firm, issued the cards.

From 8 August 2023 it could not onboard anyone new or load wallets and prepaid cards, and its own customer notice said existing cards would stop working at merchants and ATMs. The FCA register now also shows Nvayo in an insolvency process. You will find it written elsewhere that a MELD acquisition ended the card; we could not find a primary source for that, and the regulator's dates fit the shutdown. The old clubswan.com domain has since been resold and hosts an unrelated blog, so don't follow that link either.

While it ran, the card allowed $1,500 a day at ATMs for a 2% fee, with a $1.95 minimum. Best fit: nobody, the product no longer exists. We keep this entry only because third-party catalogues still list HODL Card as if active. It isn't.

Common questions about the HODL Card

What were the fees for the HODL Card?

The HODL Card had two charges. Issuance fee: $99.99 (Plastic). Annual fee: $9.99/month (Plastic). The FX fee was not published.

Is the HODL Card legit, and who is behind it?

The HODL Card is a real card that has been closed to new customers since August 8, 2023. FCA requirements effective 8 August 2023 stopped the issuer, Nvayo Limited (firm reference 900005), from carrying on e-money business; Nvayo's own customer notice confirmed it could no longer onboard customers or load cards, and the firm now shows on the FCA register as in an insolvency process.

Is the HODL Card still available?

No. The HODL Card stopped taking applications on August 8, 2023. FCA requirements effective 8 August 2023 stopped the issuer, Nvayo Limited (firm reference 900005), from carrying on e-money business.